A wild hawkmoth appeared…

As I went to town the other day I spotted a huge moth on the pavement just by the door.

DSC_2383

I carefully let it climb on my finger and popped it on top of the wall, when I got back it was still there. It looked so vulnerable, and maybe a bit scary, so I took it inside and let it rest on my window sill.

 

 

and then DREW IT

This moth would easily disappear when on bark or leaf litter with its ragged wings and blotches of colours breaking up it’s moth shape.

 

The name of this moth? The eyed hawkmoth. When something does come to close it flashes its beautiful underwings to give the nosy parker a shock.

IMG
Eyed hawkmoth by Ceri Mair Thomas

When the sun set we said farewell to our new unexpected moth friend. Back to the main drawing project now!

Leave a Reply

