Sofa nature watching: BBC Springwatch

For 11 years the BBC have made this crazy ambitious program called springwatch. Trying to explain how this show works to someone from a different country is a surprising challenge. 12 shows over three weeks showing live footage of birds nests and badger sets.

Watching eggs hatch, chicks fledge and fluffy things bounding about. Sometimes the outcome is not so positive. A snake finds the nest and devours the chicks, a badger gobbles up a few eggs, or adorable owlets start eating each other.

I have my grumbles about the show but every year I watch it and learn something new. I also get an amazing view of species that I would struggle to find if I set off into the wild. Especially while sitting comfy with a cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

