Looking at puffins

 

puffinsDrawing puffins over and over I started getting a feel for what makes a puffin so puffiny.

So I drew up a guide. If you find it useful let me know! I’ve never done this before but I thought I would share with you guys ๐Ÿ™‚

Puffin how to doc

I remember following guides this when I was younger and not getting them at all! Now I like finding the weird abstract shapes of things instead of diving into the details. I use the lovely Blackwing pencilsย which glide over paper and disappear even with the attached pencil top rubber. Mechanical pencils are great to for catching detail.

For inking I prefer rotring in 0.3 which comes out nice and smooth.

I love this screen print by Charley Harper. He had a knack for catching more than what an animal looked like. You can feel this little guys wings beating like the clappers!

puffin

I’m also a big fan of Studio Tuesday. He captures animals in their environment and his use of lines and colours make me tingle ๐Ÿ™‚

il_570xN.245802455

That’s all for now! I will be leaving the flying birds series for a bit to finally get my alphabet on amazing animals underway. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

