Entering exhibitions

I came across a call for an exhibition on the Welsh Artists facebook page. I want to enter exhibitions and posters but usually find out when it’s too late! So I was chuffed when I cam across this with 4 days to go. Woooo!

Luckily it was a postcard exhibition so I could do something tiny and quick. Also it would  to be put on sale with half the cost going to the organisers fundraising for local artists. So I would only get £5 for my work. Less than the minimum wage so better not get carried away… ah well it’s a donation and a chance to practice!

As it was a local exhibition I decided a local scene would mean a lot. The castle was my first thought, and then I thought of the mountains as seen from the beach near where I grew up and have so many memories of. I found this photo which summed up my feelings really well.

dinas dinlle
Came up on google image search. It’s a photo that Julilipop sent in to tripadvisor.

The colours were perfect. Warm and cold. It is ALWAYS windy down there and even on the hottest day you get a bit of a chill. Worth it when you get that view though huh?

Problem with cameras is that they do the maths too right. Yes the mountains are far away but when you’re there your eyes focus differently… and I wanted to concentrate on these three and in these proportions.

Also birds. There has to be some for it to be my painting. Obviously you get the herring gull floating by, and some sand martins which nest in the cliff face which are the remains of an iron age fort, and ringed plovers scurry about like  moving pebbles  so they got in.

Dinas dinnle web

So yeah. I tried to keep it simple, and failed. Tried to keep to those lovely colours in the photos but the mountains got too dark and too blue. That meant the sky wanted to be blue  or the sky of a different planet. Like Venus. Not today!

I used salt get some texture in the sky and had fun splattering the rest of it.

SO yeah (I’ve said that a lot) I like it and letting it go was hard but off it popped. I didn’t mean to put so much effort in it but I learnt a bit more about colours and I also found that using my mech pencil to go over my soft pencil leaves an imprint so I can erase the pencil and still see my lines but is much cleaner when I ink 🙂

I couldn’t make the opening night so I went on Saturday.

DSC_2434

I couldn’t find it! So it must have been sold. I hope wherever it goes it has a happy life 🙂

I hope this encourages some of you who are new to exhibiting to enter your work. It feels great to be part of something. I just hope I catch the next deadline in time!

 

Leave a Reply

